User Manager/Credits

From MikroTik Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Version.png

Applies to RouterOS: v3.x

Icon-note.png

Note: In version 4 test package, profiles are used instead of credits


Credits are used to control user session time. Each credit has:

  • Name. Unique ID;
  • Time. How long services can be used;
  • Full Price. How much it will cost if this is the first credit for the user or user has free credits (with zero-price) only;
  • Extended Price. How much it will cost if the user already has (at least) one credit (with price other than zero) and buys this as additional credit;

Credits belong to subscribers. If a customer creates credit, it belongs to subscriber which is owner of that customer.

User credits

Credits can be assigned to users. First credit (with non-zero price) costs full price. When a user already has a credit with a non-zero price, another credit can be bought at extend price.

Credits are inactive until user logs on to the system (Hotspot). When the user starts a new session, credit start time is fixed and according end time is calculated. The end time then cannot be changed, no matter if the session remains active until the end time or closes sooner.

If the user has several credits, the next inactive credit is started (it's been activated) when the previous active reaches it's end time. If there are no more inactive credits to start, the user is forced to log off.

If there is already one active credit when a user logs on, this credit is used instead of starting a new one.

If the user logs off before the credit end time, next inactive credit is started only when the user logs on again after the end time of the first credit.

Only one credit (for the same user) can be active at a time.

The last credit of a user can be removed by customer only if it is inactive.

Don't mix Credits with User credits!